Judas Priest score highest charting album in 38 years and people say metal is dead... Saturday March 17 2018, 10:30 PM
Judas Priest score highest charting album in 38 years and people say metal is dead...

Judas Priest have stormed into the album chart with their fearsome new album ‘Firepower’.

The heavy metal titans’ tour-de-force debuted at number five today, according to the Official Charts Company.

‘Firepower’ is the band’s highest charting album since ‘British Steel’ hit number four way back in April 1980 and their second-highest charting record in their five-decade career.

It’s also only their second record to dent the Top 10 – elsewhere, 1982’s ‘Screaming For Vengeance’ was the closest at no.11, while ‘Redeemer of Souls’ hit no.12 in 2014.

Produced by Tom Allom and Andy Sneap – who is filling in for Glenn Tipton on tour – ‘Firepower’ boasts 14 searing tracks penned by Glenn, Rob Halford & Richie Faulkner.

Their 18th studio album has spawned a series of colossal offshoots including ‘Spectre’, ‘Lightning Strike’, ‘Never The Heroes’ and the album title track. Watch the lyric video for the war-themed ‘Never The Heroes’ here:

Rob Halford said of the song: “Never The Heroes is about the courageous men and women that enter war. Never trained to be heroes, but becoming heroic due to their actions and sacrifices doing their duty for their people and country.

“It resonates, as there is a hero in all of us, and in times of struggle we can be strong and united, conquering our own challenges and helping others.”

The full ‘Firepower’ track-listing is as follows:

1. Firepower
2. Lightning Strike
3. Evil Never Dies
4. Never the Heroes
5. Necromancer
6. Children of the Sun
7. Guardians
8. Rising from Ruins
9. Flame Thrower
10. Spectre
11. Traitors Gate
12. No Surrender
13. Lone Wolf
14. Sea of Red

Via PlanetRock

Judas Priest headline Bloodstock Open Air Festival on Friday 10th August 2018. Tickets are on sale from   Planet Rock Tickets   now.

Reviews - Interviews - Promo - Radio Play

Contact zach@metaldevastationradio.com


comments powered by Disqus