GRABUNHOLD premiere new track at "Decibel" magazine's website Monday December 21 2020, 5:18 PM
GRABUNHOLD premiere new track at "Decibel" magazine's website

Today, German black metal classicists Grabunhold  premiere the new track  "In tiefen Verliesen"  at  Decibel magazine's website . The track is  the second to be revealed  from the band's highly anticipated debut album, Heldentod, set for international release on January 22nd, 2021 via Iron Bonehead Productions. Hear Grabunhold's "In tiefen Verliesen" in its entirety exclusively  HERE .

It was but September 2019 when Grabunhold released the mini-album Unter dem Banner der Toten for Iron Bonehead. Justifiably celebrated, here did the German quartet poignantly prove that '90s black metal classicism could indeed come from the modern era. In fact, despite invoking a whole host of timeless influences - beyond the wandering moon, an arising realm upon a shadowthrone, dark waters stirring at the dawn of the dying sun - Grabunhold processed them in such an undeniably Teutonic, swords-drawn way that was not only wholly their own, it was wholly refreshing.

Wasting no time with this enviable momentum, Grabunhold return little more than a year later with more medieval madness: Heldentod, their full-length debut. Just as spellbinding as the preceding EP but even more expansive, Heldentod immediately creates a compelling canvas that's simultaneously tied to tradition and pushing that tradition further. Its songwriting and attendant soundfield suggest strong second-wave vibes - silent citadels, sequestered keeps, dark dungeons - but never whiff of retro posturing or ham-fisted revisionism; rather, their invocation runs parallel to the Old Ways, fluently speaking the ancient dialect instead of stunted pidgin. In other, more telling ways, Heldentod strikes upon braver and less-travelled territory, bristling with a sparkling sort of production that's palatable in its almost-crystalline sheen and befitting the album's contents. Here, Grabunhold maintain a more solemn aspect - more "pagan," if you will - that's given spectral flight through cascading melodicism and an integration of choral vocals, perhaps most stirringly encapsulated in the Spartan hymn "Trommeln in der Tiefe." Elsewhere, the fire of old burns hotter than ever, with the band's bravado amplified by the powerful 'n' pro production.

Taste the German steel of Grabunhold's Heldentod! Draw the next sword with the brand-new "In tiefen Verliesen" exclusively  HERE , courtesy of Decibel, North America's only monthly metal magazine. Draw the first sword with the previously revealed "Flammen und Schatten"  HERE  at Iron Bonehead's official YouTube channel. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Grabunhold's Heldentod
1. Wolkenbruch über Amon Sul [8:59]
2. Hügelgräberhöhen [3:11]
3. Trommeln in der Tiefe [3:52]
4. Flammen und Schatten [5:53]
5. Morgenröte am Pelennor [7:46]
6. Fangorns Erwachen [3:22]
7. In tiefen Verliesen [4:49]
8. Der Einsamkeit letzter Streiter [8:48]

MORE INFO: IronBoneheadProductions

Reviews - Interviews - Promo - Radio Play



Dislike 0
comments powered by Disqus