Doom Godfathers, THE OBSESSED, Celebrate 40th Anniversary With Very Special Record Store Day Release! Thursday September 17 2020, 5:13 AM
The Beast
Doom Godfathers, THE OBSESSED, Celebrate 40th Anniversary With Very Special Record Store Day Release!

The iconic 'Incarnate' album returns exclusively for Record Store Day on October 24th from Blues Funeral Recordings!



2020 marks the 40th anniversary of doom godfathers, THE OBSESSED, which will be celebrated in glorious style! October 24th 2020 will see Blues Funeral Recordings release an ultimate and remastered edition of 'Incarnate', a finest early 2000’s collection of rare demos, outtakes and unforgettable singles by THE OBSESSED, an album which has been gone from digital streaming services and been out of print for a long time.

Officially forming in 1980, the iconic band built the bridge between metalheads and punks. Influencing heavy music for generations, THE OBSESSED are one of the most distinctive bands in the worldwide stoner, doom and heavy rock scene. Led by Scott "Wino" Weinrich, a heavy music lifer admired and acclaimed by the likes of Dave Grohl, Pepper Keenan, Henry Rollins or Phil Anselmo, THE OBSESSED has been releasing milestone albums for decades on labels like Hellhound, Columbia and Relapse, with Wino himself playing and performing with members of Sleep, Neurosis, Foo Fighters, Judas Priest, Black Sabbath and more.

Since their earliest days, THE OBSESSED accumulated dozens of demos, b-sides, covers and alternate recordings, many of which were issued in various limited releases and an early-2000s collection called 'Incarnate'. Long out of print and gone digitally, Blues Funeral Recordings' new ultimate edition of THE OBSESSED 'Incarnate' is completely remastered, features the addition of 4 new tracks, and is packaged with all new artwork, photos, and extensive new liner notes with Wino himself telling stories behind each long-lost gem. The Obsessed 'Incarnate' Ultimate Edition will be released digitally as well as in a beautiful gatefold double LP package with a unique vinyl color configuration exclusively for Record Store Day on October 24th 2020!

Exclusive Record Store Day vinyl configurations of THE OBSESSED 'Incarnate Ultimate Edition':
USA/Canada - Black/Red Marble Vinyl
Germany/Austria/Switzerland - Solid Sun Yellow Vinyl
UK/Sweden- Pure White Vinyl


"For me, playing music professionally has always been a labor of love.  Refusing to sell out, crafting songs and musical soundscapes is my art. There cannot be a compromise of artistic vision.  With relationships and life in general, compromise is necessary, but compromising my art only crosses my mind when describing my philosophy here. " Wino explains.


"I was given a gift and so I have responsibilities, to carry the torch, if you will, to illuminate the underground pathway that lies ahead and away from the mundane and banal music that some call pop or whatever.


I could not achieve these ideals without heroes with like minds and similar values. So I would like to say thanks to Jadd Shickler and Blues Funeral for believing in the power of this music, and believing in me, and re-releasing this amalgamation of sounds for your listening pleasure.


This is a compilation of outtakes, singles and demo versions of songs that made later albums... or not. Jadd told me that THIS record is what got him into my stuff, THE OBSESSED, SPIRIT CARAVAN, THE HIDDEN HAND, etc., and so we're happy to offer the fans and listeners a special revamped version. Thanks to all who believe!!!“

The tracklist of 'Incarnate', a must-have anniversary album that belongs in every well-sorted THE OBSESSED record collection and is available as an exclusive Record Store Day release, will read as follows:



A1     Yen Sleep                                  

A2     Concrete Cancer                        

A3     Peckerwood Stomp

A4     Inside Looking Out

A5     Mental Kingdom


B1     Sodden Jackal

B2     Iron & Stone

B3     Indestroy

B4     Mourning

B5     Spirit Caravan

B6     Skybone


C1     On The Hunt

C2     No Blame

C3     Neatz Brigade

C4     Hiding Mask

C5     Endless Circles (live)


D1     Streetside

D2     Climate Of Despair

D3     Decimation

D4     Fears Machine

D5     Field Of Hours




01     Yen Sleep

02     Concrete Cancer 

03     Peckerwood Stomp

04     Inside Looking Out

05     Mental Kingdom

06     Sodden Jackal

07     Iron & Stone

08     Indestroy

09     Mourning

10     Spirit Caravan

11     Skybone

12     On The Hunt

13     No Blame

14     Neatz Brigade

15     Hiding Mask

16     Streetside

17     Climate Of Despair

18     Decimation

19     Fears Machine

20     Field Of Hours

For More Info Visit:

Reviews - Interviews - Promo - Radio Play


Dislike 0
comments powered by Disqus