Sweden's legendary TORCH set release date for long-awaited METALVILLE comeback album: first new material in 35 years Friday July 24 2020, 6:17 PM
Sweden's legendary TORCH set release date for long-awaited METALVILLE comeback album: first new material in 35 years

Today,   Metalville Records   announces September 25th as the international release date for the LONG-awaited comeback album of Swedish heavy legends   Torch ,   Reignited .

Faster, heavier & louder! That was the motto when   Torch   started in 1981. Five young metalheads from the small town of Eskilstuna in Sweden, equipped with a big dream and burning ambitions: Dan Dark on vocals, Chris J. First and Claus Wild on guitars, Ian Greg on bass, and Steve Streaker on drums. With this lineup, the EP   Fire Raiser   (1982) as well as the albums   Torch   (1983) and   Electrikiss   (1984) were recorded, followed by tours through Sweden and Europe.   Torch   even got kicked off a Motörhead tour once for smashing a drum kit. But, already in 1986, the band split up again.

"The   Torch " only burned for a few years, but their influence was greater than the musicians themselves realized. Robb Flynn of Machine Head, for example, said the first song they ever played live was a   Torch   song. And Snowy Shaw of King Diamond said that he named his first band after a song by   Torch .

Over the years, there were many requests from fans for a reunion. But it wasn't until 2013 that it finally happened. Four of the founding members brought their old friend and guitarist Håkky into the band to play on a rock cruise. The comeback gig was a huge success, and the musicians felt that the time had come to let   Torch   flare up again. More gigs followed, including one at the Sweden Rock Festival 2018, where the band was very well received.

But   Torch   was not satisfied with just living in the past. So in 2019, they started writing and recording new material. Responsible for the mix and mastering was none other than Grammy-nominated producer Jacob Hansen (Volbeat, U.D.O., Pretty Maids).

The result of this work are the first new   Torch   songs in 35 years, which will now see the light of day as   Reignited . Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Torch (Sweden)'s  Reignited

1. Knuckle Duster
2. Collateral Damage
3. All Metal, No Rust
4. Feed The Flame
5. In The Dead Of Night
6. Cradle To Grave
7. Snake Charmer
8. Intruder
9. To the Devil His Due


TORCH lineup 2020
Dan Dark - vocals

Chris J First - guitar

Håkky - guitar

Ian Greg - bass

Steve Streaker - drums

Fire Raiser  (EP) - 1982
Torch  - 1983
Elektrikiss  - 1984
Reignited  - 2020

Reviews - Interviews - Promo - Radio Play

Contact zach@metaldevastationradio.com



Dislike 0
comments powered by Disqus