Elliott’s Keep, Vulnerant Omnes - Reviewed by The Obelisk! Wednesday September 21 2022, 11:27 PM
Elliott’s Keep, Vulnerant Omnes - Reviewed by The Obelisk!

Elliott’s Keep, Vulnerant Omnes - Reviewed by The Obelisk ! Check it out here at this link: https://theobelisk.net/obelisk/2022/09/21/quarterly-review-fall-2022-3/

I’ve never had the fortune of seeing long-running Dallas trio Elliott’s Keep live, but if ever I did and if at least one of the members of the band — bassist/vocalist Kenneth Greene, guitarist Jonathan Bates, drummer Joel Bates — wasn’t wearing a studded armband, I think I might be a little disappointed. They know their metal and they play their metal, exclusively. Comprised of seven songs, Vulnerant Omnes is purposefully dark, able to shift smoothly between doom and straight-up classic heavy metal, and continuing a number of ongoing themes for the band: it’s produced by J.T. Longoria, titled in Latin (true now of all five of their LPs), and made in homage to Glenn Riley Elliott, who passed away in 2004 but features here on the closer “White Wolf,” a cover of the members’ former outfit, Marauder, that thrashes righteously before dooming out as though they knew someday they’d need it to tie together an entire album for a future band. Elsewhere, “Laughter of the Gods” and the Candlemassian “Every Hour” bleed their doom like they’ve cut their hand to swear an oath of fealty, and the pre-closer two-parter “Omnis Pretium (Fortress I)” and “Et Sanguinum (Fortress II)” speaks to an age when heavy metal was for fantasy-obsessed miscreants and perceived devil worshipers. May we all live long enough to see that particular sun rise again. Until then, an eternal “fucking a” to Elliott’s Keep. - The Obelisk

Release Date: August 19, 2022

FFO: Solitude Aeturnus, Wheel, While Heaven Wept

Location: Dallas, Texas

Short Bio: In the 1990’s, the members of Elliott’s Keep were in a predecessor Dallas, Texas band named Marauder , along with vocalist Glenn Elliott.  When Glenn died tragically in 2004, the remaining members reformed as a three-piece band in 2006 with the new name to honor Glenn. Elliott’s Keep debuted with the album In Medias Res in 2008.   Sine Qua Non followed in 2010.  Both were released on the Brainticket label founded by John Perez of Solitude Aeturnus.  Nascentes Morimur was released in 2013 and Lacrimae Mundi followed in 2017. Elliott’s Keep now returns with their 5th full-length album, Vulnerant Omnes .  This release will be the first available on vinyl through NoSlip Records .

Check them out on YouTube!

Now available on Vinyl!



Support the band on Bandcamp!

Check them out on Spotify and add them to your playlists!


Follow the band at these links:


Reviews - Interviews - Promo - Radio Play

Contact zach@metaldevastationradio.com



Dislike 0
comments powered by Disqus