Arizona's THORN premiere new track at "Decibel" magazine's website - features members of FLUIDS+++ Tuesday January 4 2022, 10:16 AM
Arizona's THORN premiere new track at "Decibel" magazine's website - features members of FLUIDS+++

Today, Arizona death metal cult  Thorn  premieres the new track   "Hellmouth"   at   Decibel   magazine's website . The track is   the second to be revealed   from the band's highly anticipated second album,  Yawning Depths , set for international release on February 4th via  Chaos Records  on CD format; the vinyl LP version will be released later in 2022 while the cassette tape version will be released by Gurgling Gore. Hear  Thorn 's "Hellmouth" in its entirety exclusively   HERE .

Cavernous, brooding, and bleak,   Thorn  is a solo project of erstwhile Fluids vocalist Brennen Westermeyer. From the deserts of Phoenix,   Thorn  specializes in the foreboding and ominous. Weaving elements of death metal, doom, post, and grind,   Thorn  creates a soundscape for worshipping pagan gods and making offerings to entities unknown.

Since the band's birth in 2020,   Thorn  has delivered an EP, a split with Canada's Fumes, and then the  Crawling Worship  full-length in 2021. Vast and virulent,  Crawling Worship  set an impossibly high standard, but already is it eclipsed by the follow-up  Yawning Depths . Just like its predecessor,  Yawning Depths  may maintain a succinct runtime at 25 minutes, but its its feel - its FILTH - is literally gargantuan, a titan of smothering sound and boundless death energy. Death metal and doom may indeed form the foundation to the strident   Thorn  aesthetic, but Westermeyer wields a surprising creativity within those self-imposed boundaries, evoking a paradoxically wide-open sense of space as well as a wounded melodicism.

Nevertheless,   Thorn 's aim is true: instill waves of ominous dread and bleak hopelessness to all who listen.  Yawning Depths  is thus aptly titled, for it punctuates that point with an infinitely reverberating vacuum- cum -void.

Cum into that void with the brand-new track "Hellmouth" exclusively   HERE , courtesy of   Decibel , North America's only monthly metal magazine. Cum some more with the previously revealed "Cavernous Shrines"  HERE  at  Chaos Records ' Bandcamp. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Thorn (Arizona)'s Yawning Depths
1. Hellmouth
2. Yawning Depths
3. Cavernous Shrines
4. Noxious Existence
5. Judgement's Throne
6. Lapis Lazuli
7. Unknown Body of Light
8. Graven Moonglow


Reviews - Interviews - Promo - Radio Play





Dislike 0
comments powered by Disqus