OTARGOS - Fleshborer Soulflayer - Reviewed By White Room Reviews! Sunday December 5 2021, 6:05 PM
OTARGOS - Fleshborer Soulflayer - Reviewed By White Room Reviews!

OTARGOS - Fleshborer Soulflayer - Reviewed By White Room Reviews ! Check it out here at this link: https://www.whiteroomreviews.nl/reviews/cd-reviews/otargos-fleshborer-soulflayer/

When it comes to brutal metal bands from France, otargos may soon be on the tongue. Since the beginning of this century, this band has been a household name in the world of more extreme metal from France. In the meantime, the new album has finally been finished. Via Xenokorp, Otargos comes with Fleshborer Soulflayer.

The band, influenced by black and death metal, was founded in 2001. Of that line-up, only Dagoth is still in the band. The singer and guitarist can also be known as vocalist of Regarde Les Hommes Tomber. Despite the fact that Otargos has already released six long players for Fleshborer Soulflayer, the last one dates back to 2015. Then appeared via Xeno Kaos via Kaotoxin Records. Insiders know what the connection is between that label and Xenokorp.

Otargos' new album has eleven tracks. The first and the last serve as intro and outro of the record. That intro, 'Rise Of The Abonimation', is also the only track that is not by the band itself. The nine intermediate numbers count as what it's really about. 'Sentinel' is the longest at five and a half minutes.

Musically, Otargos shows that the influences from black and death metal are still well mixed with each other. 'Incursion Of Chaos' is reminiscent of a middle ground between Behemoth and God Dethroned,something that also appears in 'Blessed By Pestilence'. The latter has a fade-out, which may go just a little too fast.

Otargos clearly shows on Fleshborer Soulflayer that the genre certainly does not have to be monotonous. 'Fleshborer Soulflayer' has dragging guitars while the drums have a lot of fire and speed in them. That gives a nice contrast, just like the bridge in which there is a clear eye for real peace.

Fleshborer Soulflayer shows from start to finish why Otargos shouldn't make the metalhead wait that long next time. This company has a brutal, flaming release that the lover of the extreme will be completely delighted with. - White Room Reviews

Release Date: December 10, 2021

FFO: Behemoth, Aevangelist, Emptiness, Dark Funeral, Deathspell Omega

Location: France

The Korporation is proud to announce French Dark Extreme Metalers OTARGOS will raise multidimensional Hell for the 7th time with new album "Fleshborer Soulflayer" on Dec.10.

Marking the first studio recording with the band for new drummer Michael Martin (ex-EXOCRINE, ex-FLESHDOLL) and the return of former guitarist Astaroth that previously appeared on the band's 2007 to 2011 recordings, "Fleshborer Soulflayer" pushes the band's now trademark cosmic Blackened Death Metal sound ing even further in terms of brutality, heaviness and deconstruction sounding like a space-time travel through a black hole!

Again produced at France's Vamacara studio (Mercyless, Savage Annihilation...), the album will be released on a variety of formats including CD, vinyl, cassette & digital versions with a first single / music video made available for preorders launch on September 15.

Check out the video!

1, Rise of the Abomination
2, Incursion of Chaos
3, Xenos
4, Blessed by Pestilence
5, Fleshborer Soulflayer
6, Navigator [all CD versions bonus track]
7, Larva Venom
8, Daemonfire
9, Cyclones of Steel
10, Sentinel
11, Warp
12, Miasmic Armageddon Fog [DigiPak CD exclusive track]
12, Ocularis Terribus [Vinyl & cassette exclusive track]

- 500 copies limited edition deluxe DigiPak CD first print
- Crystal / Jewel Box CD
- 100 copies limited edition cassette tape
- 100 copies collector edition yellow and black splatter vinyl
- 200 copies limited edition black vinyl
- 50 copies limited edition boxset (incl. DigiPak CD, colored vinyl, special cassette and more) of which 25 even more exclusive with a autographed test press vinyl copy of the album

- Dagoth: guitars & vocals
- Astaroth: guitars
- M. Pliszke: bass
- Michael Martin: drums

- All music & lyrics by OTARGOS except "Rise of the Abomination" by Déhà
- Produced by OTARGOS at Vamacara studio
- Artwork and layout by Emmanuel Pliszke
- Executive producer: Nicolas Williart
- All songs published by Les Editions Hurlantes

Follow the band and label at these links:










Reviews - Interviews - Promo - Radio Play

Contact zach@metaldevastationradio.com



Dislike 0
comments powered by Disqus