Grim Fate / The Sombre From Ancient Slumber / The Horrid Silence Thus Began Monday September 6 2021, 9:52 PM
Grim Fate / The Sombre From Ancient Slumber / The Horrid Silence Thus Began

CHAOS RECORDS is proud to present a special split album between GRIM FATE and THE SOMBRE,  From Ancient Slumber / The Horrid Silence Thus Began , on CD format. Featuring two still-young titans of doomed-out death metal, this split album features three exclusive tracks from both bands, with GRIM FATE's half titled  From Ancient Slumber  and THE SOMBRE's  The Horrid Silence Thus Began .

Hailing from the Netherlands, GRIM FATE was formed in 2017 by Wim and Pier to create some dark, brutal, and doomy death metal. The both of them started spreading their ideas and composing full force. Influenced by the old Finnish scene and bands like Incantation, they tried to create their own brand of dark death metal. After the release of the  Emerging From the Crypt  EP, Philippus joined the band. The first result of this new lineup was a split 7" with Putrevore and, soon after that, the debut full-length  Perished in Torment  in 2020. With more momentum and growing compositional prowess, the power-trio here deliver three gutted & gargantuan tracks, their doom vibes less catatonic and more like slow-rolling dread. Then again, given their native land's proud lineage of doomy death, this growing supremacy should not be surprising...

THE SOMBRE is the work of Maurice de Jong, insanely prolific mainman of Gnaw Their Tongues, De Magia Veterum, Cloak of Altering, Hagetisse, Golden Ashes, and countless others. With THE SOMBRE, however, de Jong returns to his roots. Having spent his formative musical years in doom and doom-death metal bands (1989-1996: Atrocious, Cauteror, and Soulwound), de Jong now reimagines the sound of his youth: doom-death metal inspired by the "Peaceville Three" and other early '90s doom/death pioneers. As THE SOMBRE, he released two super-limited albums -  Into the Beckoning Wilderness  in 2019 (which CHAOS RECORDS reissued in a much-wider edition in March 2021) and 2020's  Shapeless Misery  - and now delivers his first new tracks since then. Just as cathartic as ever, this trifecta of tracks is wide open, in every sense of the word: space, atmosphere, paradoxically crushing heaviness, and indeed most of all, heart-torn-open emotion. Truly, THE SOMBRE's more traditional death-doom sound is a perfect complement to GRIM FATE's slo-mo bulldozing.

Totaling 43 minutes,  From Ancient Slumber / The Horrid Silence Thus Began  is a crucial work for fans of both GRIM FATE and THE SOMBRE as well as any maniacs into death metal's most doomed landscapes.

Preorder can be found  HERE .

1. GRIM FATE - Corpse Eater
2. GRIM FATE - Smoarige Fine
3. GRIM FATE - From Ancient Slumber
4. THE SOMBRE - Above th' Aonian Mount
5. THE SOMBRE - His Pride Had Cast Him Out From Heav'n
5. THE SOMBRE -The Horrid Silence Thus Began


Reviews - Interviews - Promo - Radio Play



Dislike 0
comments powered by Disqus