Extreme Metal Music: Thanatopsis Streaming Title Track Off Upcoming Album "Initiation" Out Oct 23rd Wednesday October 14 2020, 6:55 PM
Extreme Metal Music: Thanatopsis Streaming Title Track Off Upcoming Album "Initiation" Out Oct 23rd

California's  Thanatopsis   have unleashed the title track  off their upcoming debut album  "Initiation"   due out October 23, 2020 via  Extreme Metal Music  to follow their four independently released demos between 1993-1997.

The band comments about the song: 

"The title track of the album, a banger of a song made for headbanging, with technical elements as well.  From hidden cults to overt street violence, this song details the initiation into a gang connected to the cult, by means of shooting human targets.  Once again, an infiltration ensues."

Listen to  "Initiation"  on  YouTube Spotify ,   Apple Music .  

After a hiatus, 3/4 of the band has reunited along with the new addition of drummer  Jason Borton (Jungle Rot, Arkaik)   to offer their debut full-length, which features past recordings that are  given a second life and a chance to be heard by a broader audience along with new unheard material. The album was recorded at  Trident Studios with renowned producer Juan Urteaga (Exodus, Testament, Machine Head).

The overall album experience shares eight old school thrash/death metal influenced tracks that are an emotionally twisted ride of violently catchy brutality. With themes that include corruption, occultism, murder, revolt, and loss of faith,   Thanatopsis   delivers an album that keeps the listener engaged from start to finish, with a sound unlike any other.

The band comments:

"It has been a long time in the making and we are very excited to present to the world the first official full-length Thanatopsis album “Initiation”. This album contains timeless songs that fans, both old and new, will appreciate. Bringing our sound to the masses has been a collective dream of ours for a long time. In a scene that is saturated with bands, we are proud to release something that is unique in character to the metal world at large. "

"Initiation"   album pre-order CD   here , Digital   here .

Previous Singles:
"Embodiment"  on  YouTube Spotify
"Consequence"  on  YouTube Spotify .

Track Listing:
1. The Age of Silence (4:26)
2. Embodiment (3:06)
3. Consequence (5:17)
Malfated (5:17)
5. Initiation (5:17)
6. Your Demise (5:17)
7. Grim (3:33)
8. Suffer System (4:21)
Album Length: 36:32

Album Credits:
Produced, Mixed, and Mastered by Juan J. Urteaga at Trident Studios, Pacheco, CA, Co-Produced by David A. Couch
Artwork by Matt Cavotta
Layout by Arturo Hernandez
Art Concepts and Direction by David A. Couch
Thanatopsis logo by Brutal Disorder

John Bishop – Vocals
David A. Couch – Guitars
Thom Hall – Bass
Jason Borton – Drums

Additional vocals by Juan J. Urteaga
Drums, Bass, and Vocals recorded at Trident Studios, Pacheco, CA
Guitars recorded at Metal Command Center, Parker, CO

More info:

Reviews - Interviews - Promo - Radio Play

Contact zach@metaldevastationradio.com


Dislike 0
comments powered by Disqus