MADS CHRISTENSEN premiere new track at "New Noise" magazine's website - features members of BLOOD COMMAND, PYBANEN+++ Wednesday May 12 2021, 9:24 PM
MADS CHRISTENSEN premiere new track at "New Noise" magazine's website - features members of BLOOD COMMAND, PYBANEN+++

Today, dark rock-punkers  Mads Christensen  premiere the new track   "Amazing Grave"   at   New Noise   magazine's website . The track is   the first to be revealed   from the band's highly anticipated debut album,  5212 Helvete , set for international release on July 9th via  Edged Circle Productions . Hear  Mads Christensen 's "Amazing Grave" in its entirety exclusively   HERE .

Featuring members who have a long history in the Norwegian music scene with bands like Blood Command and Pybanen,   Mads Christensen  is a dark spark of rock 'n' roll aesthetics shot through with the energy and urgency of punk. Their sound is moody but always moving, jabbing and feinting, offering twists at every turn yet somehow sounding like the same band each step of the way. Not for nothing is their debut album titled  5212 Helvete : indeed is this the address of a very real - and very surreal - place, and getting there is its own reward. Or its own damnation... Mads Christensen  leave it up to you.

For their part,   Mads Christensen  name a varied and idiosyncratic list of influences which range the Butthole Surfers, Prince, The Spits, and Darkthrone's  FOAD  album. Across their album's succinct-yet-winding 33-minute runtime, the eight songs comprising  5212 Helvete  show those influences in deranged and bedraggled form, their throb of black-as-pitch mondo-rock or post-punk or proto-kraut keeping the listener on their toes, but we can also list the likes of Afghan Whigs, Joyless, The Stooges, and maybe even Bowie's Berlin trilogy. And of course, the spectre of the beloved Blood Command looms equally large here.

"We wanted to make some hard and raw songs that would be cool to listen to while you’re high," the band state, most accurately and pithily. "No triggered drums and no click-tracks, and one take to keep it spontaneous."

Whatever you want to call   Mads Christensen  in general and  5212 Helvete  in particular, there's no arguing with its swift & sweeping sense of devilish fun. The Devil may not care and nor do they, but here do you have eight anthems-in-the-waiting as you begin the journey to namesake destination.

Begin that journey with the brand-new track "Amazing Grave" exclusively   HERE , courtesy of   New Noise , North America's premier rock & punk authority. Get a further  taste with a trailer  HERE  at  Edged Circle 's official YouTube channel. Preorder info to be announced shortly. Cover  and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Mads Christensen's  5212 Helvete
1. Nice Nightmares
2. Amazing Grave
3. Yes I can but I won't
4. Step Into the Night
5. Staying Alive
6. Are You Ready to Die
7. I do not have a Dream
8. Ung

MORE INFO: madschristenseninc

Reviews - Interviews - Promo - Radio Play





Dislike 0
comments powered by Disqus