GOATS OF DOOM set release date for new PURITY THROUGH FIRE album, reveal first track Wednesday April 14 2021, 7:25 PM
GOATS OF DOOM set release date for new PURITY THROUGH FIRE album, reveal first track

Today,   Purity Through   Fire   sets May 31st as the international release date for   Goats of Doom 's highly anticipated sixth album,  Shiva , on CD, A5 digipack, and cassette tape formats. The vinyl LP version will follow later.

By now,   Goats of Doom  should require no introduction. For the past decade, they've remained one of the Finnish underground's best-kept secrets, largely because of a somewhat misleading moniker, but make no mistake:   Goats of Doom  are 100% black metal through and through. Their stout catalog has seen the band develop from a synth-based style of black metal during their first three albums; then, with an expansion from a trio to quartet,   Goats of Doom  truly began their ascent with 2018's  Rukous , where an uptick in aggression melded with the mysterious atmosphere of old. Aligning with   Purity Through   Fire  in 2020 for  Tie on hänen omilleen ,   Goats of Doom  finally seemed to have gotten their due or at least raised their profile. Not for nothing, that, as  Tie on hänen omilleen  was arguably the band's most powerful 'n' poignant record to date.

Alas, along comes the simply stated  Shiva , and  Goats of Doom  once again eclipse their not-inconsiderable past works. With a wild abandon that's addicting, the   Goats   here unload one anthem after another, reveling in the magick of The Moment, and keeping the METAL firmly within black metal. Despite its colorful makeover,  Shiva  is as obsidian as it comes: the melodicism is as medieval as ever, and the   Goats ' unique netherworld of nightsky mysticism and alcohol-fueled anger is thankfully intact. But, perhaps more importantly, the bountiful hooks here raise high the banner of heavy metal, the leads more strident and sometimes even folk-inflected, imparting that melancholy so endemic to the Finnish psyche. And whereas past works were (deliberately) rough around the edges, here on  Shiva  do   Goats of Doom  "clean up their act," so to speak, with an impossibly professional production wholly suited to these seven skyscraping epics: the grit becomes gleam and the gleam gets gritty, each impassioned vocal intonation, string strum, and drum hit feeling momentous and muscular and yet rendered in the clearest tones possible. Above all,   Goats   of Doom   once again display their songwriting mastery, which stays true to their original sound and yet finds ever-newer ways to manifest its majesty.

Finnish black metal may still reign, but the time is long overdue for   Goats of Doom  to assume the throne. Begin the coronation with  Shiva !

The first sounds of that coronation can be found with the brand-new track "Armon varjot"   HERE   at   Purity Through   Fire 's official YouTube channel. Cover artwork, courtesy of Spellgoth, and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Goats of Doom's  Shiva

1. ἀπōκάλυ
2. Uljas uusi maailma
3. Luomiskertomus
4. Armon varjot
5. Korjuu
6. Rotat
7. Shiva



Reviews - Interviews - Promo - Radio Play

Contact zach@metaldevastationradio.com

Dislike 0
comments powered by Disqus