V / A: “ART Records Singles Series Vol. 1” - Reviewed By Rocka Rolla Web Zine! Tuesday March 2 2021, 10:01 PM
V / A: “ART Records Singles Series Vol. 1” - Reviewed By Rocka Rolla Web Zine!

V / A: “ ART Records Singles Series Vol. 1 ” - Reviewed By Rocka Rolla Web Zine ! Check it out here at this link: http://rockarollazine.blogspot.com/2021/01/va-art-records-singles-series-vol-1.html

New American label Thrashback continues with their reissues of lost and rusted gems in the past. In 2018 I edited this compilation in which it is possible to listen to some of the bands that composed the under 90s in the United States, and in this case we have that each band originally released a 7 "(each limited to 500 copies) in 1993 on ART Records in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, and Thrashback Records released all four on one CD. This 2018 reissue features all 4 titles in their entirety, fully remastered by Rob Colwell of Bombworks Sound, and an 8-page booklet. Moving on to the musical part, the spectrum of styles covered by this compilation is very interesting. So we have death metal with Drop Dead (Indiana), thrash / crossover with Dry Bones (New Hampshire), death / Thrash with Final Judgment (Atlanta), and finally Godhead, from Ohio, also on the death metal side. As you can see, diverse and for all tastes. Of course there are notable differences between the bands, but in general the level of the performances is good. This special release also includes 3 bonus tracks from Drop Dead, Final Judgment and Godhead that were originally to appear on the unreleased compilation "First Offense". I cannot end this review without recommending that you get this CD anyway, or else you will be missing out on meeting four very good exponents of the dawn of extreme metal worldwide. - Rocka Rolla Web Zine

RELEASE DATE: November 27, 2020

THE UNRELEASED... With this second (and final) volume, THRASHBACK RECORDS is pleased to bring you what was to be the second wave of 7” vinyl releases on the Florida based A.R.T. Records label. Three of these releases were splits with the concept being to present opposing styles within the Death Metal genre.

ROYAL ANGUISH / THE RISEN: This collection begins with two tracks that were exclusively recorded for the vinyl release. Florida versus New York style Death Metal is what’s on hand.

OBLATION / DERACINATION: Here we have Florida inspired Death Metal (by way of Texas) versus a Napalm Death influenced assault from Down Under. This version of “Death By Fire” was exclusively recorded for the 7” release and is far more brutal than the version on their debut album “Times Of Atrocity” that preceded it.

FAITHFUL WITNESS / MANSOUL: East Coast Death Metal versus a blend of Florida Death Metal and Megadeth inspired Thrash riffing.

FINAL PROPHECY: The sole non-split release. Both tracks are exclusive 7” remixes. These remixes were not included on the "Re-Awakening" released which we licensed to Roxx Records in 2018.

This 2020 reissue features all 4 titles in their entirety, fully remastered by Rob Colwell of Bombworks Sound from the original DAT masters, and an 8-page booklet. This special release also features 2 bonus tracks, one each from Royal Anguish and Faithful Witness.

This special CD release is limited to a pressing of 300 units with only 270 units available for sale.

ORDER HERE: www.https://thrashbackrecords.bigcartel.com/

FOR FANS OF: Death, Napalm Death, Suffocation, (early) Living Sacrifice

1. ROYAL ANGUISH "Retrospect"
2. ROYAL ANGUISH "Shocking The Priest" [Alt. Compilation Mix - Bonus Track)
3. THE RISEN "Mortal Decay"
4. OBLATION "Dead Unborn"
5. DERACINATION "Death By Fire""
7. FAITHFUL WITNESS "Trembling Of Spirit" [Unreleased Bonus Track]
8. MANSOUL "Justified By Blood"
9. FINAL PROPHECY "Through Eyes Of Fire" [7" Remix]
10. FINAL PROPHECY "We Must Die" [7" Remix]

ORDER HERE: www.https://thrashbackrecords.bigcartel.com/

More info here:




Reviews - Interviews - Promo - Radio Play

Contact zach@metaldevastationradio.com


Dislike 0
comments powered by Disqus