New Promo: Journey Into Darkness - Multitudes Of Emptiness (Symphonic Black Death Metal) Tuesday September 15 2020, 5:49 AM
New Promo: Journey Into Darkness - Multitudes Of Emptiness (Symphonic Black Death Metal)

Journey Into Darkness is the solo project of ex-guitarist Brett Clarin from the death metal band Sorrow ( Roadrunner , 1991-1993). The music is a unique style of symphonic black death metal with occasional  interludes of dark synth . The music focuses on dark and sinister melodies all while maintaining heaviness and intensity.  

" a solitary pursuit rooted in the symphonic worlds of Dimmu Borgir, Emperor and Cradle of Filth, sci-fi soundtracks and dungeon synth " - Decibel Magazine Feb 2021

"The album is great from start to finish and is essential for those looking for something a little different and unique in front of an endless sea of generic bands. However, keep an open mind, as this is a complex album that demands your attention and is not for those who are simply looking for something to play without attracting background attention.." -  B roken Tomb Magazine

"The album sounds pertinent and flawless, even if it evokes insane and chaotically cosmic emotions (like the cover art) and lyrically emphasizes the weaknesses of humanity, the competently built compositions and the fresh ideas can’t entirely allow descending into this psychic dark voyage of the music." -  Antichrist Magazine

"In  my  opinion  Journey  Into  Darkness  are  a  very  great  sounding  symphonic  mixture  of  black,  doom  and  death  metal  and  if  you  are  a  fan  of  those  musical  genres,  you  should  check  out  this  solo  project. ." -  A Different Shade of Black Metal Zine

"While the synthie tracks build up tension like an approaching thundersturm, the Black Metal songs burst down like when lightning strikes....The new work by Journey into Darkness is definitely more than just a Black Metal release. With the symphonic arrangements "Multitudes of Emptiness" contains an artistic merit." -  MangoWave

"Songs are catchy, driven by rich and also very dark orchestrations, which strengthen the gloomy ambience but still epic created by the musician since the very firsts notes.." -  A cta Infernalis

The new release “Multitudes of Emptiness” has eight tracks that will leave the listener floating in the vast emptiness of space and existence where nothingness prevails. Four songs are a unique style of symphonic black death metal and three tracks are dark interludes. The final song is a hybrid of the old synth style and the new heavy guitar style, an emotional instrumental that blends heavy doomy guitars with synths and orchestral parts. The lyrics are well thought out and will help draw the listener into the intensity and emotion of the music.  
After the Roadrunner death metal purge in the mid 1990s my band, Sorrow, called it quits. Inspired by the intros and interludes on extreme metal albums, I started Journey Into Darkness in the mid 90s as an all synth solo project. After releasing just one album “Life Is a Near Death Experience” the project was put on hold for quite some time. Resurrected in 2018 guitars and vocals were added to give new dimension and depth to the music. 

The result is a sound like no other. In keeping with the motivation that gave birth to Journey Into Darkness, all instruments on “Multitudes of Emptiness” are virtual. This allows for extreme flexibility in the sound and the music.  

" I have been involved with the death and black metal scene since its inception. Between 1987-1993 I played guitar in the death metal band Sorrow (formerly Apparition) that released two records on Roadrunner.  I went on to own a CD/record store and record label (None of the Above) during the 90s. Twenty years have passed, but my passion for extreme music never waned. "

 "Only $3 for album download, use code "MDR" on Bandcamp"

Multitudes of Emptiness is also available on compact disc via Bandcamp, limited copies left!



Journey Into Darkness - Brett 

“Multitudes of Emptiness” – scheduled release 7/28/2020 

Track List:

1. Into Nothingness (Intro) - 1:29

2. To Be Human Is To Be Inhuman - 4:20

3. Programmed to Die - 4:03

4. Desolation (Interlude) - 2:24

5. The Insignificance Of - 4:03

6. Sending Death – 4:04 

7. Intergalactic Space (Interlude) – 2:50

8. Multitudes of Emptiness (Instrumental) – 4:45 

All music, lyrics, programming, mixing and mastering by Brett Clarin

Session vocals by Jei Doublerice

Cover art by Johny Prayogi

Logo by Christophe Szpajdel 




Reviews - Interviews - Promo - Radio Play




Dislike 0
comments powered by Disqus