Pre-Release Album Premiere: NORTHERN CROWN's 'In A Pallid Shadow' Wednesday July 1 2020, 4:24 PM
Pre-Release Album Premiere: NORTHERN CROWN's 'In A Pallid Shadow'

Fort Lauderdale (FL) - Angry Metal Guy has premiered In A Pallid Shadow, the forthcoming album from U.S. Doom Lords NORTHERN CROWN.

In A Pallid Shadow (Exclusive Album Premiere)

In the cracks between the music genres of Doom, Prog, and Rock n’ Roll, NORTHERN CROWN find a unique fit, as exemplified by forthcoming album In A Pallid Shadow. The band's third full-length album will be released on July 3.


"It all seems fairly simple and innocuous, totally fine classic doom, nothing to get too excited about.…and then Northern Crown begin to stretch their progressive muscles and suddenly we have a totally different beast." (10/10)

- Games, Brrraaains & A Head-Banging Life

"This is a superb album."

- Velvet Thunder

"Northern Crown may have the sleeper hit of the year so far with In A Pallid Shadow."  (4/5)

- Metal Rules

"So many good moments are there to be found within the grooves of In A Pallid Shadow; you need to give this a go as soon as is humanly possible!"

- Sentinel Daily

"If you wish Opeth remembered they were a metal band when they started exploring 70s prog rock, this is for you. Not doom, not retro rock, In a Pallid Shadow is the mystery meat currently being served at the AMG cafeteria. Don't ask questions, just dig in."

- Angry Metal Guy

"This is another strong outing for Northern Crown. The band have been amassing a very respectable discography over the years, and In a Pallid Shadow continues this consistently solid trend. Highly recommended."

- Wonderbox Metal

"In a Pallid Shadow [is a] a well thought-out, homogeneous piece of music that fans of Candlemass and Pentagram should like equally." (8/10)

- Hellfire Magazin

"Northern Crown have made a stake for one of the most impressive albums of the year. A huge sound, thick melodies and a confident delivery make ‘In A Pallid Shadow’ an album that is well worth checking out."

- The Razor's Edge

 "This band is heavy as it gets when it comes to epic doom. You should check these guys out and buy their stuff." (8/10)

- Redefining Darkness

"One of Florida's premier underground metal bands. In a Pallid Shadow features only five tracks, but displays a maturity in their sound that is well beyond their seven year career."

- JP's Music Blog

"In A Pallid Shadow might at first seem not that extensive with a tracklist of only five songs. But I assure you, the length of the album is enough to keep you busy. There are, without a doubt, a lot of strong aspects to be found here."

- Indy Metal Vault

In A Pallid Shadow is everything that a real adventure should be made of - an epic struggle between good and evil, a terrifying personal dilemma, a brief moment of unexpected beauty, and a few good stories. Confident in their new rhythmic stride with groove-heavy drummer Dan Konopka of OK GO, the band melds guitarist Zach Randall’s signature writing, vocalist Frank Serafine’s distinct classic vocal grit and dynamics, and Leona Hayward’s penchant for assertive and beefy bass lines. One listen through the leading track, "Leprosarium," and you may not catch the buried reference to John Coltrane’s "Giant Steps," but you will feel the ten tons of metal slamming you in the face.

As with the band’s self-titled previous album, the music is placed in the best artistic light possible thanks to the evocative artwork of Travis Smith. The final mastering of the album was handled by the notorious and balanced hands of Dan Swanö (Unisound Studio/SE.) Soloist Evan Hensley (Nightfall/Dark Hound/Karmic Link) rains fire down on the songs with a broader contribution than earlier albums, a de facto member of the band.

Track Listing

1. Leprosarium

2. The Last Snowfall

3. A Vivid Monochrome

4. 8 Hours


The band’s journey to their third full-length album has been deliberately long, and the music better for it. Their first EP,  In The Hands of The Betrayer , found the band knocking on the door to the halls of classic heavy metal and drew comparisons to Candlemass, Black Sabbath, and My Dying Bride. In pursuit of a sound with more teeth to it, their first album,  The Others , saw them summon a prog spirit as they tested their footing on the fringes of genres. All the while, the collective personal experiences of the bandmates provided ample ammunition for a barn-burning self-titled second album to come.

Northern Crown  was a hydra of differing lyrical subjects - strength in opposition, exploited vulnerability, and fictional storytelling - unified under the flag of Doom n’ Roll with extra dirty rock organ to boot. With artwork by Travis Smith and mastering by Tony Lindgren (Fascination Street Studio/SE), Northern Crown made the statement that they’d always wanted to make.

Band Line-Up

Zach Randall - Guitars

Leona Hayward - Bass

Frank Serafine - Vocals

Album Session Players

Dan Konopka - Drums

Evan Hensley - Guitar Solos

Reviews - Interviews - Promo - Radio Play




Dislike 0
comments powered by Disqus