DOKKEN: 'THE LOST SONGS' DUE IN AUGUST Sunday May 31 2020, 2:05 PM

DOKKEN   will release an album called   "The Lost Songs: 1978-1981"   on August 28 via   Silver Lining Music .

It wasn't always multi-platinum sales and stadium gigs for   DOKKEN . There was a first-phase and there were early days, and it is those bold first steps to stardom which are celebrated comprehensively on   "The Lost Songs: 1978-1981"   LP.

Featuring spectacular sleeve art by renowned U.S. artist   Tokyo Hiro   ( MOTÖRHEAD ,   MOTLEY CRÜE ),   "The Lost Songs: 1978-1981"   show the crackle and craft of a hungry young   Don Dokken   as he embarked upon a journey which started in Southern California and Northern Germany. It is a trek which is testimony to the sheer endeavor and perseverance   Don Dokken   showed in those few years between 1978 and 1981, starting from when he spent time at a guitar store called Drake's Music, owned by   Drake Levin   in Manhattan Beach, California.

A fair selection of the treasure on   "The Lost Songs: 1978-1981"   are from these early European days.   "Felony"   carries a thuggish fuzz-coated riff -think early   VAN HALEN   in really greasy embroidered denims, while   "Day After Day"   showed that   Don   could pen a radio-slaying ballad.

The writing and creation of   "The Lost Songs: 1978-1981"   are further tribute to enduring early days of struggle in both Germany and L.A.,   Don   would return to L.A. for a spell after those brief European gigs, and he worked with   Juan Croucier   on material, including perhaps the truest view of   DOKKEN 's then-future   "Hit And Run" , which incredibly did not end up on the eventual   "Breaking The Chains"   release. From the sunbaked SoCal hook of   "Step Into The Light"   to the furious, fledgling, late-Sunset Strip sound of   "Back In The Streets" ,   "The Lost Songs: 1978-1981"   shows   Don   in his unfettered early days of balls-out attitude, qualities doubtless forged in the sheer nature of the adventures undertaken in writing, recording and deciding Europe was the place to keep cutting his teeth.

"The Lost Songs: 1979-1981"   not only shares that magic with the fans, it gives them the final, vital and undeniably missing (until now) early album in the   DOKKEN   collection.

A year ago,   Dokken   spoke to the   WSOU   radio station about the   "The Lost Songs"   collection, saying that it was a "fun" release that would include "songs recorded in the '70s when I was a little pup in my early 20s. And I have 12 songs that I haven't released," he explained. "So we're gonna go in and remaster them and all that, and I might put out that record and call it something like   'Dokken: The Early Days'   or   'Dokken: The Lost Tapes' , or something like that. 'Cause it was just an accident. I was cleaning out my locker and I found a bunch of master tapes from '77 to '79. And I said, 'What the heck are these?' And it turns out it was all these demos I did in the early '70s, before we had a record deal… It's kind of fun record. My voice sounds a lot younger. I listen to it, and I go, 'God, I sound like I've got helium in my voice.' I was 23 years old. I sound like   Mickey Mouse ."

Musicians who appear on   "The Lost Songs: 1978-1981" :

Don Dokken   - vocals, guitar
Jon Levin   - guitar
BJ Zampa   - drums
Juan Croucier   - bass
Greg Leon   - guitar
Gary Holland   - drums
Mick Brown   - drums
George Lynch   -guitar
Rustee Allen   - bass
Bill Lordan   - drums
Greg Pecka   - drums

"The Lost Songs: 1978-1981"   track listing:

01.   Step Into the Light
02.   We're Going Wrong
03.   Day After Day
04.   Rainbows
05.   Felony
06.   No Answer
07.   Back In The Streets
08.   Hit And Run
09.   Broken Heart
10.   Liar
11.   Prisoner

"Step Into The Light" , the first single from   "The Lost Songs: 1978-1981" , can be streamed below.

Longtime   DOKKEN   guitarist   Jon Levin   recently confirmed that the band was working on material for the follow-up to 2012's   "Broken Bones"   album.

DOKKEN 's new LP will be released via   Silver Lining Music , the label owned by   Thomas Jensen , one of the founders of Germany's   Wacken Open Air   festival.

DOKKEN 's classic lineup —   Dokken , drummer   "Wild" Mick Brown , guitarist   George Lynch   and bassist   Jeff Pilson   — reunited for a short Japanese tour in the fall of 2016. The trek marked the first time in 21 years the four musicians had hit the road together.

A   DOKKEN   concert DVD focusing on the band's reunion tour,   "Return To The East Live (2016)" , was made available in 2018.

Since completing the Japanese reunion dates,   DOKKEN   has continued to perform with the group's current lineup — which also includes bassist   Chris McCarvill   and drummer   BJ Zampa   ( HOUSE OF LORDS ).

Via Blabbermouth

Reviews - Interviews - Promo - Radio Play




Dislike 0
comments powered by Disqus