SMOULDER's 'Times of Obscene Evil and Wild Daring' Streaming in its Entirety / Digital Version Out Now Friday April 19 2019, 9:49 AM
SMOULDER's 'Times of Obscene Evil and Wild Daring' Streaming in its Entirety / Digital Version Out Now

Toronto (ON) - Canadian firebrands SMOULDER are proud to announce the digital release of Times of Obscene Evil and Wild Daring. Stream the album in its entirety below.
Purchase/Stream Times of Obscene Evil and Wild Daring
Stream Times of Obscene Evil and Wild Daring on YouTube

On Times of Obscene Evil and Wild Daring, the quintet escapes into realms of fantasy, glory and heroism, all under the banner of epic doom and power metal! The album will be released on CD and vinyl formats April 26 on Cruz Del Sur Music.
CD Pre-order
Vinyl LP (Gold) Pre-order
Vinyl LP (Black) Pre-order
"The Sword Woman" (Fan Tribute Video)

Buoyed by the success of their The Sword Woman demo comes SMOULDER, a Canadian epic doom/power metal quintet who combines obscure metal savvy with brilliant storytelling on their first full-length, Times of Obscene Evil and Wild Daring.

An impromptu jam session at a house party was all it took to light the fire under Canadian metal aficionados Sarah Ann and Shon Vincent. The two shared a fondness for doom bands such as Reverend Bizarre, Lamp of Thoth and Solitude Aeternus, utilizing this synchronicity to throw around ideas that while crude, were the foundation for what was to come. Originally, Sarah was on drums; Vincent on guitar and vocals, resulting in the name SMOULDER, as in “smouldering ruins.” After doing the perfunctory check on Metal Archives to ensure the name wasn’t taken, SMOULDER was forged in 2013.

SMOULDER's first few years was slow-going, though, as the two struggled to find reliable bandmates in their hometown of Calgary. The pair relocated to Toronto in 2017 and came to the realization Sarah would be better off singing and Vincent should concentrate solely on guitar. Faced with the high costs of a rehearsal room and delaying the band for another year so they could afford space, Sarah and Vincent reached across the border to Illinois to secure the services of Collin Wolf (guitar) and Kevin Hester (drums). Shortly thereafter, SMOULDER trekked into the studio to record their debut 2018 demo, The Sword Woman.
The Sword Woman was released by Hoove Child Records on a limited run of 100 copies. The demo quickly sold-out, prompting the band and label to push the run to 150 — which sold out just as quickly. Soon, the label had no choice but to press a 300 run of the demo to vinyl. Smoulder (who are completed by bassist Adam Blake) eventually caught the eye of Cruz Del Sur Music owner Enrico Leccese, who extended an offer to the band at last year’s Hammer of Doom festival in Germany. Pen now put to paper, the band got to work on its first full-length, Times of Obscene Evil and Wild Daring.

Recorded throughout 2018 at Chicago’s Swift Road Studios and Toronto’s Lincoln County Social Club, Times of Obscene Evil and Wild Daring was mixed and mastered by Arthur Rizk (Eternal Champion, Sumerlands). Artwork is courtesy of iconic fantasy painter Michael Whelan (Cirith Ungol). Featuring six songs of climatic and challenging epic doom crossed with elements of power metal, Times of Obscene Evil… is the result of countless songwriting sessions and intercontinental file-sharing. With lyrics provoking the imagination while testing the mind, SMOULDER emboldens the listener with literary and fantasy-driven stories on cuts like the nine-minute epic “The Black God’s Kiss,” power metal-ripper “Bastard Steel” and “Shadowy Sisterhood,” Smoulder’s ode to Iron Maiden’s immortal “Rime of the Ancient Mariner.”

Times of Obscene Evil and Wild Daring is for the bold, brave and daring; those with a hardened metal spirit and thirst of the epic. Point your swords to the sky — SMOULDER has arrived!
"Times of Obscene Evil and Wild Daring is epic doom metal of the grandest, battle-hardy order."
- Indy Metal Vault

"Smoulder makes vibrant, dynamic compositions that owe as much to Manilla Road’s epic heavy metal as they do to Candlemass’s traditional doom."
- Last Rites

"The songwriting is savage and weighty, the atmosphere is epic and eldritch, just damn near every single element of the music on Times of Obscene Evil hits bullseye and this is going to easily contend for the top spot for Album of the Year this year."
- Lair of the Bastard

"Epic doom is alive and well in 2019! Not only do we have a new Candlemass, but there are also a few new outfits eschewing bongs and wizards for swords and sorcery, all in the name of doom. Among this new wave of heaviness is Toronto’s Smoulder, who have damn near sold out every copy of their debut album, Times of Obscene Evil and Wild Daring."
- Hellbound

"The Ontario-based quintet fuses the best of Power Metal, Epic Metal and Doom Metal. The result of this effort are six excellent anthems that belong to the best the genre has seen for many months."
"An epic slab of sword and sorcery adventure from places untouched by modern times. Smoulder have come up with an excellent debut."
- Metal Crypt

"SMOULDER emboldens the listener with literary and fantasy-driven stories with six songs of climatic and challenging epic, doom crossed with elements of power metal!"
- Maehem Underground Media

"An interesting combination; doom and power metal. Not the best of friends but in regards to Smoulder they make it work by focusing on a deeper and richer style of epic doom. Are you a believer? You will be."
- Games, Brrraaains & a Head-Banging Life

"It is dark, epic, obscure and it is based on excellent songwriting."
- The Forgotten Scroll

"Side A is faster, epic doom metal along the lines of Solstice and Solitude Aeturnus, while Side B is closer to the slower, traditional doom of Reverend Bizarre and The Gates of Slumber."
- Ride Into Glory

"SMOULDER manages to cover the entire spectrum between the neat Epic Doom and the fast Epic Metal, skillfully using all relevant aspects of the genre. Texts with inspiration in fantasy literature and a bit of occultism, the songwriting between CANDLEMASS and MANILLA ROAD."

Track Listing:
1. Ilian of Garathorm
2. The Swordwoman
3. Bastard Steel
4. Voyage of the Sunchaser
5. Shadowy Sisterhood
6. Black God’s Kiss

Sarah Ann - Vocals
Shon Vincent - Guitar
Collin Wolf - Guitar
Adam Blake - Bass
Kevin Hester - Drums

Reviews - Interviews - Promo - Radio Play



Dislike 0
comments powered by Disqus