New Jersey’s Knecht Unveils Progressive, Instrumental Self-Titled Debut EP Sunday August 1 2021, 12:01 PM
New Jersey’s Knecht Unveils Progressive, Instrumental Self-Titled Debut EP

Pictured – Joseph Knecht – Photo credit – Tristan Ahearn


Joseph Knecht has his first EP ready for listeners around the world. The debut self-titled EP is a complex journey through progressive metal instrumentals, a well-thought-out blend of classic 70s and modern prog.   Knecht , who has been playing music the majority of his life gives some insight into the record: 

“I decided to make an EP and just started writing. “Transformation” and “Overture” were really the only two songs that I knew from the beginning would be on there. The rest were written for this project. It has djenty riffs combined with the classic keyboard sounds like the Hammond Organ and Minimoog. If you listen closely you can hear Jimmy Page licks in my solos and melodies.”

Knecht   says that he started out strictly old school, however now he adds modern elements like 8 string guitar and goes for a more modern midrange-focused tone rather than the classic Les Paul through a Marshall sound.

Knecht   writes and performs all instruments on the album, except for the drums, which on this release he enlists the help of Jason Stewart who adds his own creative flair to the drum scaffolding. The result is something complex, yet accessible, enjoyable by die-hard prog fans and casual listeners alike. 

The EP is recommended listening for fans of   Haken, Porcupine Tree, Plini and Liquid Tension Experiment.

“Knecht”   is officially out on July 16, 2021 and available on the following digital platforms:   Spotify ,   Bandcamp .


“Overture (Excerpt From Halo Reach)” - 

Track Listing:
1. Transformation (4:50)
2. Tabernacle Jam (3:50)
3. Working Title (4:42)
4. Overture (Excerpt From Halo Reach) (3:42)
5. Summer Nights (3:16)
6. Destruction (5:09)
EP Length: 25:31

EP Recording Line Up:
Joseph Knecht – Guitar, Bass and Keyboards
Drums – Jason Stewart

EP Credits:
• All songs performed by: Joseph Knecht and Jason Stewart
• All songs written by: Joseph Knecht
• Produced by: Joseph Knecht
• Mixed by: Charles-Henry Volk
• Mastered by: Charles-Henry Volk
• Member ASCAP

For more info:

Joseph Knecht, from Tabernacle, New Jersey, USA, has been playing music since he was a small child. He started out with piano when he was five and picked up the guitar a year later. Bass came along in high school and he attended Berklee College of Music to further his music education.

Looking to share the music he was writing and playing, he created his instrumental solo project Knecht, where he plays everything from classic rock to more modern progressive metal. He performs originals and covers as well as teaches private guitar lessons.

With influences rooted mainly in progressive and groove metal, he replaces vocals with sweeping, complex guitar melodies that are written like vocal melodies. A typical song starts with the rhythm, for him the rhythm guitars by themselves should be interesting and be able to garner attention through the piece. While he is doing this, he is thinking about what he might want the other instruments to be doing as well as keyboard sounds if there will be keyboards. For the drums, he will program a track for writing and recording purposes, but ultimately leaves it wide open for Jason Stewart.

Knecht’s debut self-titled EP is available on July 16, 2021. It features Jason Stewart on drums and was mixed and mastered by Charles-Henry Volk.

Reviews - Interviews - Promo - Radio Play





Dislike 0
comments powered by Disqus