Right Stripped - Daylight Into Darkness - Reviewed By All Around Metal! Monday April 19 2021, 10:33 PM
Right Stripped - Daylight Into Darkness - Reviewed By All Around Metal!

Right Stripped - Daylight Into Darkness - Reviewed By All Around Metal ! check it out here at this link: https://www.allaroundmetal.com/component/content/article/26-releases/8325-right-stripped,-interessante-prog-power-dagli-usa

Right Stripped is a new name for me, as I had never heard of the michigan-born band, formed in 2003 and with three full-lengths behind me before this "Daylight into darkness", released last March. Mistakenly presented as a power metal band, these Right Stripped play an interesting prog-power with a decidedly modern flavor and with a few touches even close to scandinavian gothic. I will never understand how comparisons are made to labels or agencies that promote the record from time to time, most likely they are made at random, given that in this case names such as Blind Guardian and Nightwish are inconvenienced that have nothing to do with it, but absolutely nothing with the sound of these Americans; Killswitch Engage and their metalcore can only be assimilated for a few harsh passages of the singer (moments of which, honestly, one could easily do without), but let's make a reason for it. As mentioned, the sound of these Right Stripped is a pleasant power-prog with guitars heavily grooved and a rhythm never too sustained (objectively drummer Tim Diephouse might dare more). The band's trump card is singer Joe Kiesgen, who has a very particular, warm, low and abrasive ness when needed, a voice that tastes like whisky and tobacco, smoky clubs of the American underground, almost grunge in his suffering incest; in short, a definitely particular vocalist, out of the ordinary and far from the clichés to which we are accustomed, especially in power metal. "Daylight into darkness" consists of nine pieces for about 48 minutes of certainly convincing music; I agree (for this time) with the bio presentation on the best pieces, given that songs such as the sparkling "Three years" (among the fastest on the record, thanks to a bit of double-cash) or the poignant "Requiem", which calls to mind the last unforgettable Sentenced, are certainly above average; also interesting is the initial "We will rise", perhaps the most prog-power of the entire album. As mentioned, I did not appreciate the harsh parts of the singer and for this reason the title-track is too difficult and detached from the context. Right Stripped are an interesting group, authors of a personal and modern sound; this "Daylight into darkness" is a certainly pleasant record that deserves the attention of those who love these not so immediate and catchy sonorities. 3.5 / 5- All Around Metal

Band: Right Stripped
Album: Daylight into Darkness
Label: Carney Media Group
Release Date: March 6th, 2021
Genre: Power Metal

Right Stripped’s third album “Daylight into Darkness” is a mixture of modern American power metal, orchestral, and progressive elements. The opening track “We Will Rise” features prominent orchestral parts, big lush backing vocals in the choruses, and two blistering guitar solos. “Now That You’re Sober” and the title track “Daylight into Darkness” feature a less prominent orchestral sound, but substitute heavy riffs from guitarist Josh Carney and bassist Dave Ross, and soaring vocals mixed with brutal screams from vocalist Joe Kiesgen. The album is full of intricate double bass and syncopated rhythmic motives from drummer Tim Diephouse, who brings the rhythm section together in a very grooving, musical way.

The album also has some softer, acoustic elements with songs like “Requiem”, a song written about the tragic death of high school friend of Carney and Kiesgen, and “Carry Me Home”, which both feature prominent orchestral parts. The album finishes off with a ten-minute epic track, “Against the Tide”, which features a cinematic soundscape introduction, following with mixed-meter heavy riffs and breakdowns, powerful sung vocals, and devilish screams.

Right Stripped is influenced by many progressive elements; however, they believe in putting musicality first, not complexity. “Daylight into Darkness” is the band’s first album in over 10 years, and their best work to date.

FFO: Symphony X, Nightwish, Blind Guardian, Killswitch Engage, Dream Theater

Check out this video!

Check them out on Spotify and add them to your playlists!

Track Suggestions:
We Will Rise
Now That You’re Sober
Daylight into Darkness
Three Years

Right Stripped was formed in 2005 by high school friends Josh Carney (guitar) and Joe Kiesgen (vocals). Carney and Kiesgen recorded an initial demo, titled “Plaguing Words” shortly after teaming up, of which only 300 copies were printed. Later in 2005, the band added Dave Ross (bass) and Tim Diephouse (drums) to the line-up, and they started work on their 2006 album release “A Doubtful Life’s Anthology”. “ADLA” was full of orchestral and power metal inspired songs, with the title track being an eight-part, 25-minute epic that ends the album.

The band toured all over the US Midwest, mostly in the Great Lakes region, for 5 years, selling thousands of copies of “ADLA” and selling out their entire stock of the album in the process. During this time the band experimented with some new songs, with less prog and power metal influences. The band ultimately decided to change their sound a bit with a more modern metal approach on their 2010 album “Absence of Humanity”. The album features heavier riffs, shorter songs, and focuses more on the core rhythm section of the band, and less on orchestral elements.

Right Stripped took a hiatus from touring and writing in the 2010’s, to focus on family and side projects. In 2018 the band re-formed and started writing new material, blending the best of their original prog/power metal sound with modern American metal influences. In 2021, the band released their third, and hardest hitting album “Daylight into Darkness”, a blend of melodic metalcore, lyrical power metal, and impactful orchestral elements.

Band Line-up:
Joe Kiesgen: Lead Vocals
Josh Carney: Guitar, Backing Vocals, Orchestral Arrangements
Dave Ross: Bass, Backing Vocals
Tim Diephouse: Drums

Track list:
1- We Will Rise
2- Now That You’re Sober
3- Daylight into Darkness
4- Inner Lies
5- Hellraiser
6- Requiem
7- Carry Me Home
8- Three Years
9- Against the Tide

Follow the band at these links:



Reviews - Interviews - Promo - Radio Play

Contact zach@metaldevastationradio.com

Dislike 0
comments powered by Disqus