Canadian Metalcore Proggers Maitreya Share Guitar Playthrough “Departed”' New Album Out June 2021 Wednesday March 10 2021, 8:24 PM
Canadian Metalcore Proggers Maitreya Share Guitar Playthrough “Departed”' New Album Out June 2021

L-R:  Matt McCabe (Guitar), Steve McMillan (Drums), Matt Cutrara (Vocals), Lyam Morrison (Bass), Mark Wylie (Guitar)
Photo Credit - Jon Butler

Hailing from Oshawa, Canada, progressive metalcore Maitreya announced earlier this year they will be unleashing their new album “Hyper Reels” on June 25th, 2021. In lead up to the full-length's release, the band has so far shared two singles, "Catalyst" and “Departed”.

As they continue to showcase a barrage of complexity intertwined with melody, the band is sharing their new guitar playthrough for "Departed", the most complex and exploratory song on the record. It demonstrates an evolving and progressive song structure, illustrating the band's signature bag of tricks; frenetic riffs, operatic layered vocals, crushing breakdowns, and dense textures.

The guitar playthrough for "Departed" can be viewed via its premiere on TechnicalMusicReview  HERE .

“Departed” is available on  YouTube , Bandcamp, Spotify, Apple Music  here .

For fans of The Contortionist, Between the Buried and Me, and Protest the Hero, Maitreya's forthcoming album "Hyper Reels" boasts a higher degree of musical technicality, filthy breakdowns and a wider range on the vocals ebbing from melodic cleans into sustained growls set to a whirlwind of complicated riffs. The album as a whole was put under a microscope during its creation, forcing Maitreya to refine every element and mature past their previous releases. It shows vastly improved musicianship that will only continue to grow as the band forges onward in their career.

"Hyper Reels is an honest expression and discovery of what Maitreya is all about. We lived with these songs for years, honing them on stage and in the studio. This album details our evolution as a band, remaining true to our metalcore roots and highlighting a trajectory not confined to any particular subgenre. Our intention with this record was to craft songs with strong conceptual meanings paired with musical creativity that remains catchy." adds the band.

Lyrically, "Hyper Reels" delves deep into societal and philosophical themes regarding identity, organizational value, free will, truth, and spirituality along with touching on topics in s cience fiction, artificial intelligence, cybernetic enhancement, and the new technological consciousness. It communicates feelings of anger, frustration, and isolation, as well as optimism, freedom, and inspiration.

The full album “Hyper Reels” is out on June 25, 2021.

Album pre-save  here .

Music Video “Catalyst” -  YouTube

Track Listing:
1. Catalyst (7:23)
2. Departed (6:04)
3. Radical (5:31)
4. Summit (4:31)
5. Invaders (6:18)
6. Bloom (4:26)
7. Pilgrim (4:44)
8. Flesh Engine (4:31)
9. Hyper Reels (0:57)
10. Iswara (4:27)
Album Length: 48:56

Album and Live Band Line Up:
Matt McCabe - Guitar
Steve McMillan - Drums
Matt Cutrara - Vocals
Lyam Morrison - Bass
Mark Wylie - Guitar

Reviews - Interviews - Promo - Radio Play




Dislike 0
comments powered by Disqus