Axemaster Interview 2017 - Listen to the full interview and the podcast of the full show right here! Sunday March 5 2017, 3:54 PM
Axemaster Interview 2017 - Listen to the full interview and the podcast of the full show right here!

AXEMASTER was formed in 1985 by lead guitarist Joe Sims. The project and music has stood the test of time and remains strong after over 25 years.

With the band's original lineup, they recorded their first 4 releases: "Slave to the Blade" (demo EP cassette), "Blessing in the Skies" (full length album), "The Vision" (shaped pictured disc single), and "Crusades" (shaped picture disc single), the last 3 being released by Azra International Records. They were also featured on Azra Record's compilation shaped picture record "Metalgon" and in the comedy/horror movie "Killer Nerd".

Several lineup changes followed as the band recorded their next 2 releases: "Death Before Dishonor" (full length cassette, European-only release) and "5 Demons (Imperative is their Demise)" (self-released EP cassette). Joe Sims was the only original member to remain and play on every release. After this the band altered their musical direction and changed the name to The Awakening. That group did 1 CD before breaking up in 1995.

Four years later, Unisound Records {Greece} re-issued selected songs from 4 of the band’s releases (as well as 3 songs by The Awakening) on a 15 track CD titled "Axemaster & The Awakening, 1985-1995". In 2002 Unisound re-released "Death Before Dishonor" (as well as some unreleased material) on CD. The success of these discs proved that Axemaster's music remained in demand although the band had been inactive for several years.

The band's original lineup briefly re-united in 2007 and re-released "Blessing in the Skies" on disc through Burning Star Records {Greece}. It includes the album in its entirety as well as 3 bonus tracks and a video for the song "Slave to the Blade". The reunion was short-lived however, as Christopher Michael did not stay with the band, and the remaining members then did a studio project with a different vocalist under the name Inner Terror.

In 2010, Sims permanently re-launched Axemaster. Henderson quickly joined the project, and while Sims wrote the music for a new album to mark the band's return, they added vocalist (and future rhythm guitarist) Geoff McGraw as well as bassist Jim Curtis to complete the lineup. The first official release of material featuring this new edition of the band was a re-recording of an older Axemaster song that was included on a compilation CD titled "Metallic Commandments Volume 1" which was produced by the German magazine "That's Metal" and released in spring 2013.

In 2014, the band (along with new drummer Denny Archer) signed a worldwide record & publishing deal with Pure Steel Records (Germany), and Sims finished producing, mixing, and mastering their new album (now titled "Overture to Madness"). Pure Steel released "Overture to Madness" in March of 2015, an album which helps to define Axemaster's overall general style as a combination of the dark riffs and feel of doom metal and the energy and aggression of non-speed thrash metal.

With the worldwide exposure & success they have already achieved, the band is in a great position to take the metal world by storm!!!!


676 Cleveland Road
Ravenna, Ohio 44266


Hear the full interview 

Listen to the full show here

Reviews - Interviews - Promo - Radio Play



comments powered by Disqus