VERMINEUX set release date for new PURITY THROUGH FIRE demo, reveal first track - features members of MINENWERFER+++ Wednesday December 9 2020, 4:56 PM
VERMINEUX set release date for new PURITY THROUGH FIRE demo, reveal first track - features members of MINENWERFER+++

Today, Purity Through Fire sets January 31st, 2021 as the international release date for Vermineux's second demo, 1337, on CD and cassette tape formats.

Vermineux is the sole work of one Spectre, who has a deep history in the metal underground across several bands, but most notably as half of now-labelmates Minenwerfer. However, whereas Minenwerfer focuses solely on World War I, Vermineux casts its lyrical gaze back to the 14 Century, particularly the plagues and warfare rampant during those times. And while Minenwerfer weaves epic tales with flowing screeds of black metal might, Vermineux bursts 'n' bristles with a glorious-yet-sad sound that's utterly blanching in its passion and poignancy.

Vermineux's debut demo, 2018's 1315, was no doubt auspicious, but their latest 1337 truly trumps all; in fact; the literally electric power flowing through this record puts most regular albums to shame. Bearing favorable aesthetic comparisons to Australia's sorely missed Eternum, Vermineux here similarly pour forth a rawness shot through with cresting-and-cascading melodicism that's heart-wrenching in its soul-laid-bare bravado. Each of these eight mini-epics (including a stirring Sol Invictus cover) seems to hit catharsis after catharsis after catharsis, so emotionally inflamed is the playing - all handled by Spectre, of course - particularly the lead-guitar work, which brings tasteful flash to otherwise-classicist black metal. And the layers of ghostly acoustic guitar likewise lend a unique air to 1337, earthy and OLD.

As with many releases under the Purity Through Fire, the past is alive with Vermineux - and the year of reckoning is 1337!

Begin the reckoning with the brand-new track "Oriflamme" HERE  at Purity Through Fire's official YouTube channel. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Vermineux's 1337
A1. Valois [3:39]
A2. Bloodlines [11:07]
A3. Cotereaux [6:24]
A4. Oriflamme [4:15]
B5. Crécy [11:25]
B6. Chevalerie [6:48]
B7. A Ship is Burning [Sol Invictus cover] [2:28]
B8. Plantagenet [4:11]


Reviews - Interviews - Promo - Radio Play




Dislike 0
comments powered by Disqus