PHILM set release date for new METALVILLE album, reveal cover & tracklisting Thursday December 3 2020, 5:23 PM
PHILM set release date for new METALVILLE album, reveal cover & tracklisting

After two critically acclaimed studio albums, Harmonic (2012) and its successor Fire From the Evening Sun (2014), experimental rockers Philm will return on February 19th, 2021 with their third album, Time Burner, to be released by new label home Metalville Records. 

Time Burner is the most musically daring and mature release of the Los Angeles-based band so far. After the departure of drummer Dave Lombardo, singer/guitarist/pianist Gerry Nestler and bassist Pancho Tomaselli were able to continue. In Lombardo's place, Nestler and Tomaselli teamed up for the Time Burner sessions with Venezuelan-born and Grammy Award-winning drummer Anderson Quintero. "It was definitely a rejuvenating time for us, creatively speaking," says Nestler. "Before, there were certain restrictions - stylistic boundaries, if you will - whereas the canvas was wide open when we started writing and recording what became Time Burner.  It was kinda an 'anything goes' approach, really, and it’s made for a more dynamic end result."

Recorded and mixed in Los Angeles and New York in collaboration with Chris Sorem and Nikhil Kamineni, Time Burner offers an extravagant musical variety. Black Sabbath-like heaviness ("Steamroller") meets Syd Barrett / Pink Floyd psychedelic ("Spanish Flowers"), bluesy stoner vibes ("1942"), and daring funk ("Wonka Vision"), combined with a powerful dose of hardcore. The kind of musical depth reveals what the previous albums had only hinted at.

Multi-instrumentalist Nestler also juxtaposed old Philm assaults like "Cries of the Century" and "The Seventh Sun" with several piano-based pieces, including the album’s epic 11-minute closer, "Time Burner." "We are still as heavy and intense as ever – we definitely haven’t turned into a jazz band," laughs Nestler, "but it’s nice to have that contrast. Tension and release tends to make for a better listening experience. We’re all really pleased with how Time Burner turned out, and I think the best is yet to come for us."

First track premiere to be revealed shortly. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Philm's Time Burner
1. Cries Of The Century
2. Steamroller
3. Spanish Flowers
4. 1942
5. Wade Through Water
6. Wonka Vision
7. The Seventh Sun
8. Evening Star
9. Like Gold
10. Time Burner



Reviews - Interviews - Promo - Radio Play



Dislike 0
comments powered by Disqus