Slanderus - Absorbing Infinity - Reviewed By Powermetal! Thursday June 2 2022, 2:31 PM
Slanderus - Absorbing Infinity - Reviewed By Powermetal!

Slanderus - Absorbing Infinity - Reviewed By Powermetal ! Check it out here at this link:,39176.html

The Americans SLANDERUS have made a name for themselves in the prog metal sector in their band history and were even able to inspire my colleague Björn Backes in parts with their last long iron "Walls Of The Mind". Actually, Björn only wanted a much more powerful production for the song material of the Californians and predicted a promising future for the foursome with sound improvements. Well, five years have passed, with Bryan Porter a new man on bass and keyboards and the central question is whether the new silver "Absorbing Infinity" can come up with the necessary improvements.

Well, the opener 'Tectonic Plates' doesn't bode well in this regard. The guitars and the bass are again incredibly flat and convey hardly any pressure, while the cymbals of the drums disappear in an almost indistinguishable hiss. For this, the vocals of fronter Allen Alamillo are mixed far too far into the foreground, which additionally deprives the instrumental faction of the much-needed space. Not to mention that Allen pursues a quite peculiar melody that you have to get used to as a listener. Once that's done, the fronter sounds like Geoff Tate in his best moments, which justifies the references to QUEENSRYCHE brought into play by the band itself. The foundation of progressive rock and metal is also mixed with some crossover set pieces that give the opener its own touch.

Not surprisingly, the tonal problems prove to be the biggest stumbling block in the further course of the season, which stands in the way of the enjoyment of "Absorbing Infinity". In addition, the Americans are not doing themselves any favors with the fact that the songwriting after the quite pleasing opener more and more lacks the red thread. So too often beautiful moments, which mainly contribute the guitars and the vocals, are rarely consistently developed to the end, and often the songs get lost in their playing time beyond the 6-minute mark in unnecessary players. 'Omen', for example, shows that things are much better with a hard metallic edge, fine hooklines and a strong DREAM THEATER impact. Likewise, 'Espiritu' can convince at least in part and expands the prog cosmos, which otherwise takes place somewhere between the dream theater and QUEENSRYCHE, by a modern Djent influence with lower tuned guitars.

Unfortunately, these two numbers and the opener remain the only real bright spots on a record that otherwise leaves much to be desired. I don't want to rule out that many other points of criticism would not be so important if the sound had been a bit more powerful and clear, but the sound preparation is a point that you simply can't get past as a listener. In this respect, I can only recommend the new long turner of SLANDERUS to fans of the band, who have not been bothered by the peculiar production even on the predecessors. - Powermetal

Release Date: April 29, 2022

FFO: Queensryche, Dream Theater, Opeth

Location: California, USA

"We are very proud to announce our new album ‘Absorbing Infinity’ is officially done and will be released on April 29th, 2022. As soon as Bryan joined the band, we started talking about working on a new album. Jason had been writing and demoing the songs for this album for years ." - Slanderus 

Rehearsals for the new album started in August 2021 and concluded in February 2022. Recording sessions took place at Love Juice Studios in Riverside, CA from February through April 2022.

"With our last album ‘Walls of the Mind’ 5th birthday coming up, we were very eager to get back in the studio and record a new album. We’ve had a lot of setbacks over the last few years, but we didn’t let that stop us. We kept pushing forward and always believed in what we were doing. We are very excited for everyone to hear this album and can’t wait to play these new songs live!" - Slanderus 

The new album will be available on CD, digital download and all major streaming services.

Check out this video!

Check them out on Spotify and add them to your playlists!

Also available on Apple!

Track Listing:

1. Tectonic Plates - 5:47
2. Absorbing Infinity - 6:09
3. Cobra Kai - 4:50
4. Find Your Lifeline - 6:26
5. Omen - 7:12
6. Espíritu - 5:52
7. A Small Sacrifice - 3:17
8. Absolution - 7:50


Jason J. Kennedy - Guitar
Allen Alamillo - Vocals
JJ Gawrich - Drums
Bryan Porter - Bass guitar / Keyboards

Sound Engineer - Dave Swanson
Produced by Jason J. Kennedy

Recorded at Love Juice Studios in Riverside, CA

unnamed 25.jpg

Follow the band at these links:

Reviews - Interviews - Promo - Radio Play




comments powered by Disqus