Mortiferous - Necromancer Awakens - Reviewed At OccultBlackMetalZine! Monday December 27 2021, 11:30 AM
Mortiferous - Necromancer Awakens - Reviewed At OccultBlackMetalZine!

Mortiferous - Necromancer Awakens - Reviewed At OccultBlackMetalZine ! Check it out here at this link:

Mortiferous  are  a  duo  from  Quebec,  Canada  that  plays  an  old  school  form  of  black  metal  and  this  is  a  review  of  their  2021  album  "Necromancer  Awakens"  which  was  released  by  Black  Market  Metal  Label.

  Dark  yet  heavy  riffing  starts  off  the  album  before  going  into  a  very  fast  and  raw  musical  direction  which  also  uses  a  great  amount  of  blast  beats  and  tremolo  picking.  Vocals a re  mostly  high  pitched  black  metal  screams  while  the  music  is  also  very  heavily  rooted  in  the  90's  second  wave  style.

  Melodies  are  also  added  into  some  of  the  guitar  riffing  while  all  of  the  musical  instruments  on  the  recording  also  have  a  very  powerful  sound  to  them.  Throughout  the  recording  you  can  also  hear  a  decent  mixture  of  slow,  mid  paced  and  fast  parts  along  with  a  couple  of  tracks  also  adding  in  a  brief  use  of  spoken  word  parts  as  well  as  the  solos  and  leads  also  being  done  in  a  very  melodic  style  when  they  are  utilized,  clear  vocals  can  also  be  heard  briefly  and  all  of  the  music  also  sticks  to  a  heavier  direction.

  Mortiferous  plays  a  style  of  black  metal that  is  very  raw  and  aggressive  in  the  90's  second  wave  tradition.  The  production  sounds  very  dark  and  raw  while  the  lyrics  cover  Occultism,  Necromancy,  Darkness  and  Nature  themes. 

  In  my  opinion  Mortiferous  are  a  very  great  sounding  old  school  black  metal  duo  and  if  you  are  a  fan  of  this  musical  genre,  you  should  check  out  this  album.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE  "Like  A  Vortex  of  Eternal  Snow"  "The  Ancient  Grimoire  Of  Knowledge"  "Necromancer  Awakens"  and  "Blackhearts  of  The  Nightfog".  8  out  of  10. - OccultBlackMetalZine

Release Date: December 17, 2021

FFO: Mgła, Early Emperor, Forteresse, Spectral Wound, Monarque

Location: Canada

Black Market Metal Label is proud to present the release from Canadian/Quebec Black Metal upstarts MORTIFEROUS and their new album entitled Necromancer Awakens.

Though relatively new on the block, the parties involved in MORTIFEROUS should be familiar. For starters, there's the talented and ever-evolving Ekinox (Magister Dixit, Spirit of the Forest and many others) handling all instrumental duties. Then, on vocal duty,  there is the mighty Athros (Forteresse, Nordmen to name a few). The sound conjured by these two maestros on their debut Necromancer Awakens is high quality, original, Métal Noir Québécois, harkening back to the glory days of the genre.

On Necromancer Awakens, MORTIFEROUS open a tomb sealed long ago and release back in the world wraiths that we considered gone. Spiritually and musically inspired by the gods of the second wave of Black Metal, MORTIFEROUS’s debut album is highly recommend to the fans of the 90’s Nordic black metal era.

LISTEN to the track Frozen Dominions Untamed here:

Track listing:
1. Like A Vortex Of Eternal Snow
2. Redeemer Of Assassins
3. Frozen Dominions Untamed
4. Demonic Berzerker Entities
5. The Ancient Grimoire Of Knowledge
6. Necromancer Awakens
7. At The Gates Of Northunder
8. Under The Splitted Skull Banner
9. Blackhearts Of The Nightfog

ORDER Necromancer Awakens here:

- Mortiferous -

- Black Market Metal Label - 

Reviews - Interviews - Promo - Radio Play


Dislike 0
comments powered by Disqus