HOUR OF 13 stream long-awaited new SHADOW KINGDOM album at "Decibel" magazine's website Monday August 23 2021, 4:57 PM
HOUR OF 13 stream long-awaited new SHADOW KINGDOM album at "Decibel" magazine's website

Today, doom legends    Hour of 13  stream the entirety of their long-awaited fourth album,  Black Magick Rites , at   Decibel   magazine's website . Set for international release on August 27th via   Shadow Kingdom Records , hear  Hour of 13 's   Black Magick Rites  in its entirety exclusively   HERE .

By now,   Hour of 13  should require little introduction. For the better part of two decades, mainman Chad Davis has pursued a unique and intensely personal iteration of traditional doom metal. Along the way and over the course of three albums and numerous EPs,   Hour of 13  have built a formidable discography that's amassed a fanatic following awaiting each spooky 'n' somber offering Davis and his rotating cast of cohorts creates. And while he's released records for a variety of labels over the years, in between a couple breakups, Davis brings   Hour of 13  back to   Shadow Kingdom , who released the band's self-titled debut album in 2007 long before the hype started.

Hour of 13 's first full-length offering in over eight years,  Black Magick Rites  was available digitally on November 1st, 2020 for only 24 hours. Just as uniquely,  Black Magick Rites  also marks the first   Hour of 13  album where he handles not only all instruments, but also all vocals. Indeed, Davis' vocals evoke an ancient nostalgia, of doom metal before it was "doom metal" - of the days when bands like Black Sabbath, Pagan Altar, and Witchfinder General simply followed their respective muses wherever it took them. And for Davis,  Black Magick Rite s sees him taking his   Hour of 13  muse toward a rougher, more rock 'n' roll expression and yet tinged with an emotive melancholy that resonates deeply within the soul. No, no flavor-of-the-week "occult rock" cliches here, for Davis still prizes blue-collared authenticity in his doom, but he likewise never lets it hamper his immediately recognizable songwriting, which here ever so subtly inches closer to classic deathrock territory (think the likes of early Christian Death and Voodoo Church). Naturally, with a title like  Black Magick Rites , an indulgence in occultism is expected, and you can literally feel the fingers of the black beyond reaching out to you across every electric minute of this 44-minute monolith.

Despite those isolated breakups,   Hour of 13  continue to get better with age. Perfectly titled as any record in their enviable discography,  Black Magick Rites  is the sweet sound of salvation...through damnation.

In the leadup to its long-awaited release this Friday, hear  Black Magick Rites  in its entirety exclusively   HERE , courtesy of   Decibel , North America's only monthly metal magazine. Preorder info can be found  HERE   at   Shadow Kingdom 's Bandcamp. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Hour of 13's  Black Magick Rites

1. His Majesty Of The Wood
2. Return from the Grave
3. House of Death
4. Black Magick Rites
5. Within the Pentagram
6. Harvest Night
7. The Mystical Hall of Dreams

www.hourof13official.bandcamp. com


Reviews - Interviews - Promo - Radio Play

Contact zach@metaldevastationradio.com



Dislike 0
comments powered by Disqus