New Promo: Pentesilea Road - Self Titled - (Prog Metal) Thursday March 11 2021, 7:14 PM
New Promo: Pentesilea Road - Self Titled - (Prog Metal)

Pentesilea Road - A Band‘s Short Bio and Introduction:

“Pentesilea Road” is a post-progressive band, originally formed as a one-man solo project of the Italian guitarist Vito F. Mainolfi in 2014. Until 2019, the band published several demos, mostly instrumental, over SoundCloud and BandCamp. In July 2020 Vito F. Mainolfi recorded a full-length demo of 11 tracks and started recruiting several musicians in order to record the first self-titled album.
By the end of October 2020, the band line up was completed and enriched by guest stars Ray Alder ( Fates Warning, Engine, Redemption ) and Mark Zonder (Ex- Fates Warning, Warlord ). The recording of the first album was completed by the end of 2020 and the first single, “Shades of the Night”, was released on January the 29th, 2021. 
The first full-length album “Pentesilea Road” was released on 26.02.2021. 

About the Pentesilea Road Album:
Due to COVID-19 outbreak, the album was recorded as a long-distance collaboration:  Guitars/Bass were recorded in the Netherlands, Vocals in Italy and Spain, Keys in Italy, Drums in Italy and USA. The musical style is a contamination of a few genres, including clear influences from the Progressive, Post-Rock and Metal areas.
The band's name is a reference to Pentesilea, the diluted city described in Italo Calvino’s book “Invisible Cities”, clearly mentioned as a metaphor for the sense of displacement in the post-modern era (the album was initially advertised as “Pentesilea Road is a post-progressive journey along the roads of the Invisible Cities. A tale of dissidence; an irreverent act of protest against the modern world”). 
Although the album is not a concept, the philosophy behind the main topic is constantly recurring in the lyrics (“Stuck in a dream of a steady decline/while dancing the cosmopolitan pantomime”, “this Cybercircus/a neo-feudal constitutional architecture camouflage”, “the media mouth has all the answers for those who have no questions”).
Pentesilea Road first album has been published on 26.02.2021 on all digital platform. 
CD Digipack will be available in April 2021 and can be requested via the band’s Facebook page

Tracks and Credits:


1 Memory Corners (Feat. Mark Zonder)
2 Stranded
3 Genius Loci
4 Spectral Regrowth (Feat. Mark Zonder)
5 Stains (Feat. Michele Guaitoli)
6 Give them Space (Feat. Mark Zonder)
7 Shades of the Night
8 The Psychopathology of Everyday Things
9 Noble Art (feat. Ray Alder)
10 Pentesilea Road
11 A Tale of Dissidence
12 Shades of the Night (Feat. Ray Alder)

Pentesilea Road is:
Vito F. Mainolfi – Guitars, Bass, Backing Vocals, Programming & whatever else
Ezio di Ieso – Pianoforte & Keyboards
Alfonso Mocerino – Drums
Lorenzo Vincenzo Nocerino – Vox

Special Guests:
Ray Alder – Vox on Shades of the Night, Noble Art
Mark Zonder – Drums on Memory Corners, Spectral Regrowth, Give Them Space
Michele Guaitoli – Vox on Stains
Paul Prins – First solo on Give Them Space

All Music & Lyrics by Vito F. Mainolfi - Produced by Vito F. Mainolfi – Artwork Concept by Vito F.Mainolfi

Follow the band at these links:


Reviews - Interviews - Promo - Radio Play




comments powered by Disqus