Exclusive Interview with AITTALA On the Thunderhead Show Tuesday November 5 2019, 5:00 PM
Exclusive Interview with AITTALA On the Thunderhead Show
Band Members

Eric Aittala - guitar/lead vox
Gary 'Zeus' Smith - drums/vox
Ali Lugo - bass

Press Contact


Booking Agent


Why the name AITTALA? (pronounced 'eye-tah-la') 
Simple. A name was needed and Eric's last name seemed like a good choice. It's ambiguous and doesn't lend itself to any specific genre like some band names tend to do.

The music crosses many metal genres; it’s hard to put it into just one category. The sound infuses elements of classic heavy metal, doom, progressive, power, thrash and hard rock with lyrics drawing inspiration from the darker side of the human condition. The AITTALA sound has been cited for being unique which is no easy task in the metal genre. 

Eric formed the first version of Aittala in 1991 while living in Holland. With fellow American Tim on vocals and Dutch band mates Ed (drums) and Jon (bass), the band played numerous shows around the Dutch metal scene. 

With the release of the 3-song EP 'Selling Heaven' in summer of 1993, AITTALA opened for such bands as THE GATHERING and SADIST. But as the band and the demo started to create a buzz in the underground Dutch metal scene, Eric had to leave the country.
Over the next decade or so, Eric played in numerous bands (TRIBE, MAGNETHEAD, DWELL) and lost focus on AITTALA. Near the end of the 00's, Eric decided it was time to refocus his efforts on the AITTALA brand.

From 2009 to 2016, AITTALA released 4 full-length albums: 'Bed of Thorns' (2009), 'Haunt Your Flesh' (2011), 'Effigy' (2014) and 'American Nightmare' (2016).
Each album showcasing a natural progression of songwriting and lyrical content but retaining the core AITTALA sound and evolving it.

In 2019, AITTALA released the band's fifth full-length album 'False Pretenses'; 10 brand new songs that not only continued the songwriting evolution of heavier but catchy songs, but also sonically. AITTALA used an entirely different approach for the recording, mixing and mastering to create the best AITTALA album to date.

The current line up of AITTALA consists of Gary 'Zeus' Smith (THE FIFTH, ex-MR BLACKWELL) on drums and Ali Lugo (SUN OF NILE, ex-DOPESICK, ex-AGE OF DESPAIR) on bass. They continue to write, record and tour to bring AITTALA to the masses. 

Reviews - Interviews - Promo - Radio Play

Contact zach@metaldevastationradio.com

comments powered by Disqus